Holiday Break Update

Well, I’ve now been away for just over a week. And it’s been a mixed bag of getting things done.

First, an update on the dissertation. I managed to get through another chapter, so I have two left (related work and conclusion). It’s been harder to work on the writing that it has been on the startup, and I think that’s because there are much smaller pieces for the startup, but for writing I need a longer stretch of time to sit and focus.

I’ve done a fair amount on the startup, but because of the nature of what I’m doing (going through and testing and cleaning up the code) a lot of it ends up getting redone multiple times as a better solution appears. Which then means that even though I’ve put in time and done a lot, it doesn’t actually cross off all that much.

The library has actually worked out quite well. It’s pretty small and fairly busy, but it’s mostly white noise/silence. And I’ve been taking along headphones for when it has become too loud (which was only once because some young kids were getting tutoring right near me and kept giggling). I’ve gone three times so far and was also able to work at the house one day (because most went out). I’ll go back there again today.

I got a chance to visit with a friend from undergrad this past weekend which was great. I hadn’t seen her in years. She’s one of those friends that even though we haven’t seen in years we have lots to talk about it and it’s all easy. That was the one main thing I wanted to do on this trip, so I’m glad it all worked out.

I’m definitely looking forward to the quietness and solitude of my own place, but for now, at least I’m getting a few things done. It’ll be a busy first week back.

 

Join the discussion

