Working in Libraries

I love books. I love reading books. I love having my collection of books on my bookshelf. However, I rarely go in libraries. I don’t have anything against them – in fact, I love libraries too, since they’re all about books. And I use to use them all the time (especially when young). I think I rarely use them now for a couple of reasons. One, I just don’t have all that much time to read, so it’s always better to own the book, so I can read it when I have time, instead of with a return deadline looking. And two, I have so many places to work, that the library just doesn’t make it on the list (although I do remember using it a bit back in undergrad).

However, with the Christmas break not far away, I’ve been thinking a lot about how I’m going to manage to get work done while I’m away. I’m going to go from being in my nice quiet apartment of one person to a house crammed full of nine people. It’s going to be loud. And chaotic. There will be people demanding that others do stuff at specific times. And so, I’ve been thinking about libraries a lot.

Where I’ll be going, there’s a public library with free wi-fi. Which means it should be the perfect place to go sit in a quiet area and get some work done. So I think my plan is going to be to try to make it to the library every couple of days, and sit down for a couple of hours of solid work.

I both need and want to be continuing to work on my dissertation (they’ll still be chapters that will be waiting to be written) and the startup. We’ve got a lot of work queued up that needs to get done, and done by very early January (so taking 2 weeks off is just completely not possible). And not only is it not possible, I want to do this work. My stress levels don’t get better by just taking time off, when I don’t feel like I can actually afford to stop. It just makes me stress more.

So, I’m hoping that the library will turn out to be the right place to get this work done. That it won’t be overrun and noisy. That I’ll be able to find that quiet corner, with few distractions, and just solidly hammer out some work that will keep me feeling productive and moving forward.

Of course, in the meantime, I will continue to get as much done as I can before I go, so that I can have those days where it feels completely okay to not work.

2 thoughts on “Working in Libraries

  1. I’m not sure what the libraries in Canada are like, but here in the states they are too noisy for me to get any work done. It seems that every time I go there is someone or several someones that refuse to quiet down. I have stopped trying to use the local library and just suffer with the conditions at home. Good luck.

    • I haven’t been to this library, so right now I’m going on hope that there will be somewhere quiet. It says there are study areas, so I assume/hope they are not right next to the kids books.

      But libraries today are in such an awkward spot, as they try to include a lot more multimedia stuff, which encourages noise. Add in changing the kids book area to include a lot more toys, and the general open space atmosphere and noise abounds.

Join the discussion

