So many meetings

I’ve been planning for a while to take some time off this summer to focus on the startup (we’re hoping, fingers crossed, to launch this fall). And I’ve been saying all along “mid July.” I have to say, mid July came a lot faster than I was expecting, but here it is.

What I’m hoping for most out of this break, is the ability to step back from research a bit more and not feel so guilty about it. I’m not sure I want to put it completely on the back burner (that’ll just mean even more work once I come back), but rather learn to feel okay if I don’t manage to do any research on any given day.

And, because this is my “final” week, things have ended up becoming super busy. Today I need to go to campus for a presentation to some high school students about my research. A presentation I’ll fully admit I haven’t prepared for and don’t really plan on doing much more than making sure certain files still open. Tomorrow there’s a workshop in the morning I’m debating going to. It’s probably a good thing to go to, but it also means giving up pretty much the entire morning. On Wednesday I have my normal research group meeting, although we’re doing an extended one this week (fun fun) and then in the afternoon there’s a talk on preparing your thesis for submission (and since the rules and format have changed since my Masters, it seems worth going to). Thursday, I have a meeting with the other main co-founders of the startup (one is finally back in town) and that’s going to be a tough conversation (if we talk about what we should). Then on Friday, there’s another grad talk, specifically about preparing for your defense (I went to one on candidacy a few years ago that was super interesting). And, then to top the week off, on Saturday there’s an awards ceremony that I need to go to because we’ve been nominated (although I’m not even sure we fit the criteria).

On top of all the meetings and talks and what not, I still need to find time to write, work on my experiment, and exercise. It’s only Monday morning, but I’m already exhausted. It’s very tempting to just go back to bed.

Join the discussion

