Rough Start

Well, I’m off to a bit of a rough start on my July Plan. I’m behind in all categories as of this morning (and today’s only day 5!), and so need to buckle down and get to work. Of course, as normal, that’s easier said then done.

My biggest problem (which is not surprising) is the writing category. I haven’t checked off one square yet, and if I was on schedule, I’d have checked off 4! That’s equivalent to two hours behind. And if I do no writing today, that’s another two squares or an hour. Eek! Yet, even knowing that, I don’t feel any urge (not even a tiny one) to get writing. I don’t know what the mental block is, but there’s obviously something there.

If I get some exercise today and do 1.5 hours of research, I’ll at least be on track in two categories. But all I want to do is go back to bed.

Now, I know I shouldn’t be too hard on myself. It’s not that I’ve done no work over the last few days – I’ve actually put in quite a bit on my startup. The problem is that I have a really hard time balancing between the startup and research. And I’m at a point where I can’t really afford to keep waffling between them – I need to figure out how to balance both at the same time. Maybe mornings on research and afternoon/evenings on startup?

Technically, according to my plan, I only need to spend two hours on PhD related things a day (1 hour research, 1 hour writing). And so spending the morning on task should be more than enough time to get those two hours in – assuming I can stay focused. That’s going to be the hard thing – there are days where I can put in three hours of solid work before noon, but those days are definitely an anomaly. I don’t actually know what the best time of day is for me to work (a quick glance at rescue time seems to indicate mornings 9-12 and then 7pm).

Anyway, my goal for today is to actually check off a box under writing. So, 30 minutes of writing here I come…

2 thoughts on “Rough Start

  1. Best of luck to you. It is completely normal to get behind 🙂 Sometimes the break can actually make you come back to writing in a much stronger fashion. I’d succumb to feelings of guilt when I’d step away (always thinking I ought to be writing), but when I’d come back to my work I’d be refreshed and energized. It still happens. Cheers.

    • Thanks! I just finished my first 30 minute block of writing. Sometimes it helps to put it out there that I’ll do something. And I know some of the initial writing is always the hardest (especially since my supervisor wants to me to write in order).

Join the discussion

