I *don’t*/*won’t* encourage cheating

Every once in a while, I receive an email, or a comment, or request on this site that I ignore, delete or turn down. Why? Because I refuse to help someone advertise cheating.

What do I mean? Well, these requests generally come from someone who is affiliated with some site that will write custom essays. And to mean, any custom essay writing service, that wants to advertise itself to grad students, is shady and supporting people who cheat or want to cheat.

I don’t want any part of this. I don’t want to have the comment on my site, where someone clicks on the commenter’s name only to end up on a site that is offering to write their dissertation for them. Because I will feel like I assisted in this person potentially cheating. And I’m not okay with that.

I firmly believe that most people who cheat are going to get caught. There will always be the exception, but still, most will get caught. They may not get caught during the class they cheated in. Or even during their degree. But at some point, it’s going to end up hurting them. Like when they are asked to write stuff for their job and it comes out that they can’t write a sentence or program to save their life (and yet they graduated from English or Comp Sci?).

People who want to cheat, will find a way. I don’t need to make it any easier for them. If you are thinking of sending me a comment, wanting to guest post, or have an infographic I should really share, make sure that you’re not associated with a site designed to help people cheat before asking. Because otherwise, the answer will always be no.

Join the discussion

