User study testing starts now

Well, as scary as it is, today I start running my user study. And it’s terrifying. After last semester, and the hope I had then, I’m so nervous that the results are not going to be good.

I don’t know what to do about these feelings. I don’t think there’s anything I can do but run the experiment. Because until I get results, I won’t actually know, one way or the other, how things are going to turn out.

I’m sort of wussing out on the start of this. Because I actually had enough time to book multiple sessions for today. But instead, I only booked one. This was also to combat my fears. I’ve done a ton of testing on my experiment, and I’ve had random problems pop up for different people. And some of these problems make absolutely no sense at all. There is no way the code should ever cause what’s happening (seriously), but it is. So, I’m only running one group to see (and hope) that nothing bad happens. And, I’m running it on Friday, so that should something come out of this (eek), I’ll have two days to hunker down and try to fix it.

I just really want this experiment to work. Because if it doesn’t, I don’t know what we’re going to do next. I’m concerned if it doesn’t, it sort of invalidates my last 2 (3? 4?) years of research. And then where do we go from there? No clue. However, expect me to have a meltdown if things go terribly.

I’ve been debating taking time off this summer, and focusing on the startup for a while. And if things go badly, the likelihood of this will become that much greater. But, it could be a really good idea either way. For now, I just need to make it through the testing phase and initial analysis.

Anyway, wish me well.

Join the discussion

