Ramblings

I’m tired. Mentally. Physically. This year has just wiped me out. And this break doesn’t feel all that restful, because my mind keeps zooming around with thoughts of what I should do next, or where to go from here.

I keep telling myself to focus on other tasks. And to do other things. But my brain refuses to turn off. It’s like the more I try to not think about school, the more I do. I really wish I knew what my plan was going to be.

I did manage to get some more start-up work done. And I’m starting to actually understand what I’m doing, which is a plus. Because it makes things go a little faster. And I’m that little bit more confident when I try something. But it still feels like I spend about 20 minutes searching the web for ever 1 to 2 minutes I spend actually coding. And I’ve got notes all over the place reminding me how to do things in case I need to redo them (which happens more often then not). And I realized how brain dead I was, when today I refreshed a page to see if anyone had checked out my changes only to remember a couple of refreshes later that the database (for now) is local to everyone, so I wouldn’t even see the results if they had. Whoops.

Today I’m heading home for the holidays. I’m hoping some different scenery will help out. It’ll also be nice to see my parents. And I know they’ve got some computer stuff they need help with, so it’ll give me something to do.

I think this might be the time I finally cave and get an iPad (potentially used if my parents decide to upgrade) and start playing around with writing programs for iOS. I’ve wanted to do that for a while. And I actually started writing one with the idea in the back of my head that it could be used on an iPad. I should continue it sometime. Maybe get a chance to implement some of the back-end ideas I had for the app.

And I need to finish up my progress report. I’ve started it. But then I put it away, not really wanting to think about it too much. But I know if I have that done, it’s one more thing off my plate for a while.

Anyway, this is all rambling, because that’s my mindset right now. I’m not sure if I’ll post next week. I was going to say I’m going to take next week “off”, but I don’t actually know if I’ll do that.

Join the discussion

