New projects and new tools

One of the things I like best about this whole idea of the start-up, is that it requires me to work with a lot of technology that I’ve never used before. I suppose this should be intimidating and a negative, but, as I’m so sick of my own work at the moment, this is actually really appealing.

When I was in undergrad, I use to have the tag line “Jack of all trades, master of none” in my email. And I feel like it still is a great way to describe my interests and approach to learning. I love learning new things. And I often get bored before I really do become a “master” of anything (attention problems?).

So, getting to dive in and learn something new is really exciting. It’s a little frustrating, because I find learning new code when you’ve programmed for years is both easier and harder then when you initially start. Easier, because you already understand logic and building programs. Harder, because you want to skip the beginners stuff (which ends up never being a good idea).

I do a fair amount of programming for my degree. Some of it is better than others. And it did require learning a whole new tool to do so (which was more exciting at the beginning – it’s now turned completely frustrating). But, the one thing my research has never touched on, is any of the new tools for creating websites. Nothing like flask or django or javascript or even css. However, our start-up is going to be a web-app, which means diving headfirst into all of these. We do have people on our team who know lots of this. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to learn it myself.

I’m actually looking forward to this weekend and getting a chance to see what I can figure out. And this time, I’m going to start with the tutorial and work from there. Even if it feels “too easy.” While I won’t be a ‘master’ at the end of the weekend, hopefully I will have learned some of the new skills necessary to get out prototype up and running.

 

Join the discussion

