Coding + vacations

Oh coding…

So a friend posted this on Facebook, and it sort of reflects the first half of my vacation. Except that I’m the guy in the picture, not the girl, and the girl is my entire family. And, obviously, the entry for the girl can’t be taken word for word – but I’m sure my family has thought I was very distracted and no really here or pleasant. But I really was caught up thinking about my coding problem and desperately wanting to fix it.

On the plus side, I did finally solve my problem (woohoo). But it’s really hard to focus on interacting with family and having fun when you’re mind is busy going “oh, but what if I try this?” and all you want to do is find your laptop. And even once it was solved, I then wanted to get cracking on the next problem and issues on my list. But those are going to need to wait until probably Tuesday – because I’m doubtful that I’ll find time today (between end of vacation, travelling home and then getting ready to head back to campus early Tuesday).

You can also blame the coding problem for the fact that it took me until Saturday to even realize I hadn’t posted on Friday (oops). But I ended up deciding that I didn’t want to try and add that to my list of things to do when I was already tired.

Oh. If you want a good laugh, next time you’re at the book store look up “The Day the Crayons Quit” (or better yet, just go buy it). It’s hilarious. And you should’ve heard my 4 year old nephew explaining to my dad how “Peach is naked and so he’s hiding in the box and won’t come out.” (Seriously, it’s a super funny book.)

Join the discussion

