Last minute conference prep = no blog post yesterday

Sorry about not posting yesterday. I was going to. Honestly. Except the night before (when I often write my posts) I ended up in a scramble to finish my presentation for the conference.

I thought I had all my slides done and just needed to do a final examination / run through. Oops. Nope. Turns out making slides when on a plane early in the morning and feeling exhausted leads to making slides that aren’t super co-herent. I ended up needed to re-do most of my slides.

By the time I went to bed that night, my presentation was still too long (this was for a very short time slot, so it becomes a struggle to explain enough and give enough detail without running out of time). The next morning I was determined to write my blog post, finish my slides and make it to the conference on time to present. The good thing, is that two of those happened. Obviously you can figure out which one didn’t. šŸ˜›

This last minute preparation was stressful. I hate doing it. And yet, I find myself doing it more and more when it comes to stuff like presentation. I know it would go better / be better if I was prepared well in advanced, and yet I can’t seem to change old habits (although I’m trying).

The presentation went okay in the end – although I may have given a slightly wrong answer to one question (whoops). It helped that I went after a presentation where the presenter stumbled a bit (felt bad for that one). But it did make mine look more polished in the end. šŸ™‚ Sometimes you need to take what you can get.

(I did try to post yesterday – but I was at the conference networking and watching amazing speakers, and then out for dinner and drinks and didn’t get back to the hotel until after midnight. At that point I was too tired to post.)

Join the discussion

