So glad it’s May

Wow am I ever glad the last four months are over. Why? Because I don’t think I’ve had a more stressful semester. Ever. And it’s frustrating, because it wasn’t even that it was so stressful because I had so much to do and not enough time. Which at least is somewhat easier to deal with, because you know you’ll just get things done as well as possible and the deadlines will pass and you can move on.

Instead, it was just a combination of things. Starting over on some of my research (which, in the end was a really good idea, but ended up taking a lot more time and delaying stuff even more). Trying to get ethics approval. Writing papers – particularly a couple that are still on-going (but deadline is almost here) that have caused a ton of arguments between writers. My mom having surgery. Other family issues. The winter that will Just Not END. Not being able to get participants. Problems with next steps. Ugh.

Anyway, I’m glad it’s May. It means the last four months are over. It means I can (hopefully) start a new chapter and move forward and things will look better.

I’m also terrified that it’s May. It means we’ve already gone through 1/3 of the year! Conference paper deadlines are sneaking up really really fast. I have a conference in less than 2 weeks. I still don’t know what I’m going to work on for the summer.

But, I actually took yesterday off. I didn’t mean to. I was going to do what I’ve been doing most days – sit and think and brainstorm and sketch out possible ideas (only to crumple them up and throw them all away). But, I just never got enough motivation to get started. And so, instead, I spent the day cleaning my place (I’m doing a deep clean now and going through everything), watching old episodes of Flashpoint, chatting with my sister, and surfing the web. It was actually kind of great.

However, as nice as yesterday was. I don’t want to have a summer of those days. Because that means I’m not making any progress towards finishing. So, today is back to brainstorming.

Join the discussion

