Become an entrepreneur?

I feel like I’ve been surrounded by lots of talk about becoming an entrepreneur. Between comments from other grad students (and discussions) and attending workshops that talk about being an entrepreneur as an option, it’s everywhere.

If you’d asked me a year ago, I would have said that I definitely don’t want to be an entrepreneur. And, if you asked me today, I’d only be slightly less sure of that. I’m pretty sure I don’t have the right personality for it. That I’d find it way to stressful not knowing where my paycheque is coming from and trying to get everything going and keeping my fingers crossed that everything works out.

However, that’s not to say I wouldn’t mind working for a small company. In fact, I spent time working for a very small company during my undergrad – there were about 6 – 10 people at any given point. And it was kind of fun, because you got to get involved in more parts of the process, just because of the numbers.

I’d even possibly consider forming one if the circumstances were right. But, for me, it would have to be that it was a side project. That something worked out, and it was worth pursuing, but not full time. More a hobby, that just happens to bring in some extra cash.

Personally, I think those who go this route are very brave. It’s such a risky path to follow, but I know that the rewards can be huge. I can see how it can be, for some people, such an awarding path to follow, full of excitement. And so I commend those people. Maybe, someday I’ll join some of you, possibly as an employee of a startup.

Join the discussion

