Summer

Okay, I know it’s technically been summer for a few days, or a while if you go by the school calendar. But it still sort of feels like summer really starts next week and lasts July and August. ūüôā Maybe because that’s the same time period I’ll have to be on campus pretty much daily because of the high school students we’ve hired.

Either way, I’m finally starting to think longer term and plan how I want my summer to finish. I’ve had goals for May and June, and most of them have been accomplished, but they were all usually short term, even if they took longer to complete. Now I want to figure out how the rest of my summer will play out.

In order to be productive, I started the Beeminder graph like I said I was going to on Monday. You can also see it on the side bar on the main page of this blog. I went with my goal of 10 tasks a week. I have completely decided on what counts as a task. I want them to be research related, but not all research related stuff is strictly me doing something on my own. So, for example, yesterday I counted meeting with my supervisor – since¬†technically¬†that was all about research. As the summer goes, I’m hoping I’ll have a better idea of how to break my work into reasonable tasks.

I also stumbled across this article about procrastination the other day. I really like the idea of the 2 minute goal, which, if you don’t read the article, boils down to don’t put off anything that you can do in 2 minutes or less. I’m not so sure it’s going to be useful research wise (except maybe when it comes to responding to emails) since most tasks take well over 2 minutes. But, I think it can help me try to stay on top of other parts of my life – like keeping my apartment clean-er. It definitely takes less than 2 minutes to put dishes away or dirty clothes into the laundry basket.

How are you motivating yourself to keep on task this summer? Do you have any tips or tricks?

One thought on “Summer

  1. In my experience, the best way for me to stay focused is to keep up momentum and keep myself busy. I’ve been working on another paper, have started mulling over an idea for a grant proposal, touched up the slide deck for my qualifier, and started planning for two big projects I’m working on in the fall. Having a whole bunch of stuff on the side helps keep me focused on my research because it keeps me bouncing back and forth between different things, giving it all a sense of freshness.

Join the discussion

