Scholarship Renewals

I’m working on a scholarship renewal form right now. Which is interesting – mainly because this is the first time I get to do so. And so I’m learning the process. Well, the process for this one anyway. It’s really just another series of hoops, which is fine, because if I succeed, I get some money out of it, and having the extra money is one less thing to worry or stress about.

However, the form is… interesting. Well, maybe that’s not the right word. Frustrating? That might be a better choice. For the most part, it’s quite straight forward. Write a page on what you’ve done and what you’re going to do. Get proof of registration from your university. Have your supervisor write a recommendation letter. Write a page listening publications, presentations, etc. That’s the part where everything goes haywire.

There are instructions for how to list your publications. However, they make no sense. For example:

List posters using the following headings:

  • subject
  • location
  • date
  • correlation to research

Maybe it’s just me, but how are those headings? There’s another bizarre set of headings for publications. In the end, I decided to just list them normally (as in how I would if I was going to cite them) and make my own headings of Refereed Publications, Other Publications, Posters, and Demos. I don’t think it’ll be a huge problem, because it’s still really clear what I did.

Anyway, I think at the end of the day, a lot of the weight on determining whether I get the renewal will be based on the letter from my supervisor. And I think it’s also largely a formality. But, that doesn’t matter. I’m happy to do something in return for getting funding.

Join the discussion

