Candidacy is coming together

Whew, in the past couple of weeks my candidacy is quickly coming together. Of course, that means it won’t happen until August! But it’s still exciting and scary at the same time.

We’ve sorted out my committee, which is my supervisory committee + another professor from my department + external professor from within the university. Apparently for candidacy the entire committee must be from the university.

We’ve narrowed down the week in August we’re hoping to have it, unless a conflict or something emerges. Fingers crossed that doesn’t happen.

Now it’s just up to me to get the document finished. Which would be going faster if I had more motivation to actually write it. I don’t know what holds me back each day when I open it and stare at it, and ultimately go and do something else. I want to finish it. Really. I do. But my subconscious is holding me back.

I’ve got a long plane ride today, so I’m hoping to try and hammer out some parts on it. And I’ll have another plane ride back on Friday, so hopefully more will be done then. I don’t actually have much time in between to get stuff done, so the plane rides will need to be some level of productive. The draft needs to be done in just over a week (but earlier is preferred), so I’m starting getting close to the wire. Then we only have so many weeks to do edits before it’ll need to be handed off to the committee. And there’s lots of other work queuing up right now that I keep putting aside as I attempt to work on the document and get it out of the way.

So if you have some extra motivation lying around, please, send it my way. I need this to get done. And I know this weekend I’m going to be tired from my trip, so sooner is better.

Join the discussion

