Year in Review – Site

I have to say, I’m really shocked that the year is coming to a close and I’m still working away on this blog. When I started it, I thought it’d be fun and a good way to vent some of my feelings on topics about grad school. The same sort of stuff you vent about everyday to your friends and with other grad students.

And it was going to be another thing to help me keep on schedule and get stuff done each week. Now about a year later, I have written 155 posts (including this one). I’ve gone from barely getting a hit each day (and if I got more than one it was usually ‘spam’ hits) to averaging almost 20. I have 14 followers (which continues to amaze me). People are starting to comment more frequently (which is super cool and please continue to do so) and I’ve tried to reply to all comments.

I’ve noticed a couple of times that people are coming here from Facebook, which means someone liked (or hated) one of my posts enough to post it there and their friends are actually clicking the link. I only wish I could see what they’re saying (or maybe I don’t want to know).

People are finding my site through google from around the world. I’ve seen google.com, .ca, .com.au, .co.nz, .co.in, .com.ph, .tn, and .co.uk just to name a few.

The top 5 most popular posts I’ve had (based on visits to the actual posts, not to the main page) are:

  1. How to Write: Future Work/Conclusions
  2. How to Write: Related Work
  3. How to Write: Methodology and Analysis of Results
  4. Can you justify your research?
  5. Open Letter

As I continue to move forward with my research, and start checking things like candidacy off my list, I hope I can come up with another set of topics to share over the new year. (Of course, if anyone is interested in suggesting a topic (or writing one for me) or writing one for me let me know.)

So, enjoy your last couple of days of 2011 and have a very Happy New Year. I’ll be back on the 2nd. 🙂

Join the discussion

