Finding a hobby

Since I’ve been so productive during the week, and more specifically during the day during the week, I’ve been finding it harder to fill my evenings and weekends with stuff. I know, what a terrible problem to have. But after sitting in front of my computer for 8 straight hours, I’m realizing I really don’t want to look at it once I get home.

Which is odd, and makes me realize how much I must normally get up and move around when I work at home, since those days I usually feel like I’m on the computer all day – from the time I get up until I go to bed. And I’m not usually sick of it by the end of the day.

I do have a few hobbies or things that I do. I climb with a friend a few nights a week. I try to get out for a run at least once a week (but am pushing towards going a minimum of twice). And usually during the regular school year (September through April) I try to go to the gym a couple of times a week (this usually replaces going for at least some of my runs). I also like to get out on my bike, but haven’t been doing so much this year. And I’ve been really good and walking to and from campus these past couple of weeks.

But none of these are things that can completely fill my evenings or weekends. So I’ve been trying to come up with other hobbies I can use to fill my time. And ones that aren’t related to looking at a screen – so not more TV or computer time. It’s turning out to be more of a struggle then I thought it would be. And I’m starting to realize how much time I normally spend in front of a computer. And how reliable I am on it.

Which is a little odd, since on my conference/vacation, all I took with me was an iPhone for the whole 2 and a bit weeks. And I was completely fine with just that. But at least there I had new (to me) cities to explore. But maybe that’s one idea – to start re-exploring this city. I’ve lived here for four years, but almost all my time is spent on campus or within a small area of the city. So that’s one thing I can look at.

Outside of that, I need to start exploring my interests and finding more things to do. Like doing more reading for fun. Or getting a new hobby. I did buy a new camera for my trip, and have one friend bugging me to get out with it more. So that’s a possibility too.

Join the discussion

