Solo Vacation

My high school intern student started this week – but I’m still in Europe. I feel a little bad about that, but on the other hand, I’m glad that I’m taking this vacation.

I don’t think I’ve ever taken a vacation by myself before. Which seems a little odd now that I think about it. That’s not to say I haven’t travelled by myself. I’ve been on many flights on my own. I’ve also gone to multiple conferences by myself. But none of that is the same as having to fill my days with only my own company (and anyone else I may meet). On the odd trip by myself before, I’ve always ended up visiting close relatives, so it’s not the same type of vacation (or much of a vacation :P).

I’ve mentioned before that I’m an introvert. Which is true. I do love being on my own. However, there’s something about traveling on my own that makes me really nervous. Which is odd, and really surprised some people I know. My mom said that of all of my siblings and me, I was the last one she thought would get nervous about something like this.

By the time this is posted, I’ll be part way through my solo vacation. I’m staying in hostels for a couple of reasons: 1) I’m hoping that I might meet some people to go do some of the touristy things with, or even to just hang out with; 2) It’s much cheaper than staying in a hotel, so I am able to stay for longer.

I’m really hoping that I’ll come back from this trip super excited to do more solo traveling. In the past, I’ve looked into programs by places like Outward Bound. They’re group trips, but part of them is about doing a solo section to sort of “discover” yourself. And I’m sort of hoping this trip will give me a level of that. That being somewhere else, and pushing myself to do things outside my comfort zone will help me change for the better.

So fingers crossed, that in a week when I’m back in my apartment, and struggling through days on campus while jet legged, I’ll be already dreaming about my next solo trip. But, on the off chance that doesn’t happen, it just means I need to start convincing some of my friends to do some traveling with me (and figure out some ways to save enough to make it happen). I’m already planning on a trip to antarctica to celebrate when I get my PhD (it’s a dream of mine to visit there).

Join the discussion

